Sunday, April 1, 2012

SA U20 goes down to Ghana in WC qualifier

The South African Under 20 Women’s National Team (Basetsana) has been defeated by two goals to nil (2-0) by Ghana in the first leg second round of the FIFA Under 20 World Cup qualifiers.

The match was played on Saturday, 31 March at the Sinaba Stadium in Daveyton.

In the first half the two sides were evenly-balanced with either team having a chance to take the lead – but the goalkeepers from both ends saved the day on numerous occasions.

At the break it was still goalless.

The match changed direction early in the second half the visitors scored a crucial away goal.

This was after a harmless ball was floated into the South African goal, and Florence Dadson, who was a constant thorn in the Basetsana defence in the first half, tapped in for a one nil lead.

The hosts made two substitutions immediately after the goal with Kelson Peskin and Nomvula Kgoale replacing Shiwe Nogwanya and Rachel Sebati respectively.

South Africa suffered a further setback in the 33rd minute Patience Hlongwane was red-carded for a foul in the penalty box. Elizabeth Addo stepped up to give Ghana a two-nil lead, and that’s how it ended.

“The fact that we have lost two nil to Ghana means we are in a tough battle to reverse the result and progress to the third round of the qualifiers. Ghana’s first goal was too soft, and for the second our player made a wrong decision which led to the unfortunate penalty and dismissal. This means we will have to re-focus and change tactics when we play away,” said South Africa head coach Sheryl Botes.

“I am hoping that the injured Jermaine will be available in the second leg as her experience was needed today. We need to attack Ghana in the return leg match and camp in their half. As difficult as it may seem, we have to score more goals to keep our hopes alive of reaching the third round and eventually qualify for the finals. We haven’t given up as there’s still much to play for,” added Botes.

Basetsana will now travel to Accra, Ghana in a fortnight for the second leg.

The overall winner will play the third and final round of the qualifiers between 4 and 20 May. 

The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup tournament will be played from 19 August to 8 September 2012 in Japan.

This is how they lined up:

South Africa:
Kaylin Swart (GK); Tshegofatso Makinta; Lebogang Mabatle; Meagan Newman; Shiwe Nogwanya; Rachel Sebati; Patience Hlongwane; Robyn Moodaly; Bontle Mashilo; Regina Mogolola; Jabulile Mazibuko (c); 

Alice Khosa; Christelene Jantjies; Kelso Peskin; Nomonde Nomtsheke; Andile Dlamini; Nomvula Kgoale; Mosili Makhoali; 

Not in the match-day squad:
Maphuti Manamela; Katlego Moletsane (GK); Jermaine Seoposenwe; Caitlin Fryer

Nana Ama Asantewaa (GK); Cynthia Boakye-y; Mercy Miles (c); Linda Addai; Elizabeth Addo; Alice Eva Danso; Priscilla Saahene; Deborah Afriyie; Janet Egyir; Florence Dadson; Edem Atovor; 

Margeret Otoo (GK); Rebecca Asante; Jane Ayiyam; Faustian Ampah; Jennifer Coudjoe; Mary Essiful; Beatrice Sesu

Gladys Lengwe (Zambia)

No comments:

Post a Comment